1 | 2


From the thirteen year onwards (i.e., 1968), the first two sections merged under the title “Articles”. Diánoia thus aquired the format of a contemporary philosophy journal in Spanish, open to all philosophical views, and with a clear predominance of Ibero American scholars such as Ernesto Garzón Valdés, Antonio Gómez Robledo, Juan Nuño, Ulises Moulines, Ezequiel de Olaso, Alejandro Rossi, Fernando Salmerón, Luis Villoro and Ramón Xirau. Despite this predominance, scholars such as Elizabeth Anscombe, Bas van Fraassen, Jürgen Habermas, Friedrich Kambartel, Hilary Putman, Richard Rorty, Wolfgang Stegmüller and Timothy Williamson have also published in the journal. Diánoia appeared annually without interruption during 45 years. 


Since 2001, Diánoia has appeared twice a year when the editors decided to renovate the yearbook. Departing from usual practice, the editorial board determined that the journal would have a director other than the Instituto’s director. Guillermo Hurtado became the first appointed director, followed by Pedro Stepanenko, Ricardo Salles and Faviola Rivera. The cover and interiors were redesigned; the sections on discussions and book reviews were strengthened; and efforts were made to distribute the journal abroad. Diánoia has appeared on time during more than fifty years (its publication was interrupted only in 2000 during renovation).



Diánoia publishes contributions in Spanish, which can be articles, critical notes, discussions, and reviews of books written in any language. All submissions are subject to strict peer review by specialists.